Wednesday, 21st November 2018 3:46:27am


The Kopanong Municipal area is situated in the southern Free State. It has the largest surface area of the three local municipalities in the Xhariep district, covering 15 190 square kilometres (44,5%). The nine towns situated in Kopanong are Trompsburg (municipal head office), Gariep Dam, Springfontein, Bethulie, Philippolis, JagersfonteinFauresmith Edenburg and Reddersburg.

During 2000/2001, according to LDO documents, the Kopanong population was estimated on 53 947 at an average of 3,55 people per square kilometre. This is about 41,9% of the total Xhariep population. Of these 76,3% live in urban areas, whereas 23,7% live in rural areas. According to the latest figures received from the nine towns in Kopanong it seems as though the population density could presently be more than the figure given above. It will be updated as soon as the latest data from STATS SA becomes available.

Economic Analysis

Agriculture is by far the largest contributor to the local economy. According to STATS A 1996 it produced 38% of the gross geographic produce in Kopanong in 1996. Other main contributors were general government (23%), finance (13,3%) and trade (10,2%).

Meat production (sheep as well as cattle) and wool form the basis of the farming industry in Kopanong. The second largest sheering barn in South Africa is situated in Trompsburg.



Webmaster : P S Ntalimeng - ICT - Kopanong Local Municipality -
Tel: Direct: 051 - 7139201 / 7139246
Sel: 071-1701038


Download Acrobat Reader:




Login Form